Office of the President

Presidentai Seal

The President of the Republic of Wynnum

Michael Jullyan


The Republic of Wynnum established the office of President in 2016 to mark its second anniversary of independence.

The appointment process is much simpler than presidential nominations and elections in other countries and designed to be significantly less expensive both for nominees and for the country.


The office of President is auctioned to the highest bidder via an eBay auction annually, originally coinciding with Independence Day on 12th November. The selection process has now been moved to later in the year, with each President serving a 12 month term coinciding with the calendar year.

Bidding starts at AUD$100.00 and the highest bidder becomes the office holder. In the event that no bid is received above the minimum bid, the current President will automatically continue to serve in the position.

In 2020 a ‘Buy Now’ option was introduced into the bidding process, with a set figure. For the 2021 term the Buy Now option was fixed at AU$500.

There are no qualifications or restrictions imposed upon the office holder, for example they are not required to be a current or previous resident of the Republic or even a Citizen of the Republic (although they will automatically become a Citizen upon taking office).

The office of President of the Republic of Wynnum has no executive power and no duties attached. The President is able to call themselves “The President of the Republic of Wynnum” and will have access to the official flag of the Republic for official functions within the borders of the Republic during their term of office.

Should any currency be issued or coins struck, the President is entitled to have their image appear on any notes or coins, should they wish.

The office is held for a period of 12 months only, at which point a new President is appointed using the same process. All funds from the auction go towards the betterment of the Republic.

Past Presidents

Nicholas Bell
4th President of the Republic

IN OFFICE Wednesday 13th November 2019 – Thursday 31st December 2020


President Martin Kristoffersen

Martin Kristoffersen
3rd President of the Republic

IN OFFICE Wednesday 14th November 2018 – Tuesday 12th November 2019

John ShepherdJohn Shepherd
2nd President of the Republic

IN OFFICE Sunday 12th November 2017 – Tuesday 13th November 2018

President MerrimanYvonne Merriman
1st President of the Republic

IN OFFICE Saturday 12th November 2016 – Saturday 11th November 2017